RIBA Stirling Prize

James Stirling (1926-1992)
James Stirling (1926-1992)

The RIBA Stirling Prize is given for the RIBA Building of the Year. It is run in association with The Architects’ Journal and is presented to the architects of the building which has been the most significant for the evolution of architecture in the past year.

The winning architect receives a cash prize of £20,000. The prize is named after the great British architect Sir James Stirling (1926-1992).

desde RIBA Stirling Prize.

RIBA London Building of the Year Award and Special Award
Building of the Year Award
This is for the best building within London, chosen from amongst the year’s RIBA Award winners.

El Premio Stirling del Real Instituto de Arquitectos Británicos (en inglés Royal Institute of British Architects Stirling Prize) es un premio británico a la excelencia arquitectónica. Lleva el nombre del arquitecto James Stirling y es concedido anualmente por el Real Instituto de Arquitectos Británicos.

2009 RIBA Award Winners Announced

Date:  21 May 2009

Press office contact:

Beatrice Cooke
T: +44 (0)207 307 3813
E: beatrice.cooke@inst.riba.org

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2009 RIBA Awards. RIBA Awards for architectural excellence will be presented across the country today with 103 buildings in the UK and Europe winning awards (97 in the UK and six in the rest of the EU).

The RIBA Award-winning buildings range from an Observatory at Kielder in Northumberland to the Liverpool One regeneration and retail masterplan, from a private house at Dungeness to Wexford Opera House in South East Ireland. Health centres, notably for Cancer, are well represented here as are retail buildings in their many forms, including John Lewis in Leicester and the Reiss and Monsoon headquarters in London. Seaside buildings and regeneration projects also feature in various guises. The architects whose work has been honoured this year range from small practices to large, international ones. There are also some multiple winners such as Allies and Morrison (4 awards), Hawkins/Brown (3 awards), BDP (3 awards), Niall Mclaughlin Architects (4 awards) and Penoyre & Prasad (3 awards).

Neo Partenón para atesorar palabras

Museo de Litaratura Moderna El nuevo Museo de Literatura Moderna en Marbach, Alemania; un “templo” que mezcla lo clásico y moderno, ganó el Premio Stirling 2007.

Nota completa en Clarín Arquitectura.

La nueva terminal de Barajas gana el reputado premio ‘Stirling’ de arquitectura en Reino Unido

OBRA DEL EQUIPO DE RICHARDS ROGERS Obra del Equipo de Richards Rogers, nota completa disponible aquí.